Ewan Birney and Rolf Apweiler in 2016


EMBL-EBI has two Directors: Dr Rolf Apweiler and Dr Ewan Birney. Professor Dame Janet Thornton stepped down as Director on 30 June 2015 after 14 years as Director of the institute, and is now a Senior Research Group Leader.

EMBL-EBI is part of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), an inter-governmental organisation with 22 member states and two associate member states. EMBL is led by the Director General, Professor Iain Mattaj, as appointed by EMBL Council. The Council is composed of all member states of the Laboratory.

You can read more about EMBL leadership and guidance on the EMBL website.

Executive Management Committee (EMC)

Members of this committee EMC represent the full range of EMBL-EBI activities, including technical services and administration. They handle key executive aspects of the institute's activities, and consult closely with Group and Team Leaders.

Strategy and Management Committee (SMC)

At EMBL-EBI, strategic decisions including budget, funding and the creation of new posts are deliberated by this committee. Members are shown in alphabetical order.

Rolf Apweiler Director
Alex Bateman Head of Protein & Protein Family Services
Ewan Birney Director, Joint Head of Research
Alvis Brazma Head of Molecular Atlas Services
Cath Brooksbank Head of Training
Lindsey Crosswell Head of External Relations
Rachel Curran Head of Administration
Paul Flicek Head of Genes, Genomes & Variation Services
Nick Goldman Research Group Leader and Joint Head of Research
Henning Hermjakob Head of Molecular Systems Services
Gerard Kleywegt Head of Molecular and Cellular Structure Services
Andrew Leach Head of Chemical Biology Services
Johanna McEntyre Head of Literature Services
Steven Newhouse Head of Technical Services
Helen Parkinson  Head of Molecular Archive Resources

Group and Team Leaders

In addition to the SMC, EMBL-EBI Group and Team Leaders are a crucial element in decision making. These include:

EMBL Scientific Advisory Committee

Council establishes a Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC), which shall give advice to Council, in particular with regard to proposals from the Director General on the realisation of the programme of the Laboratory. Current SAC members are listed on the EMBL website.

Scientific Advisory Committees - Services

Our bioinformatics services largely represent global collaborations, and these are advised by individual scientific advisory boards and committees. A full list of members is available here.

Contact: Deborah Howe
Assistant to the Directors
European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)
Tel: +44 (0) 1223 494 648
Fax: + 44 (0) 1223 494 468 
E-mail: doffice@ebi.ac.uk