Imaging Ecosystem working group


The working group will provide external community assurance to the BioImaging Project Board that the activities and proposed outcomes surrounding the establishment and development of the EMBL-EBI BioImage Archive align with community needs and wider trends.

The main roles of the working group include:

  • Provide guidance regarding the wider BioImaging community’s needs in depositing and reusing data.
  • Provide feedback and support for project activities and outputs and their alignment to community needs.
  • Develop criteria for and advise on the integration of (new) community resources into the BioImage Archive ecosystem.
  • Highlight and support the progress of the BioImage Archive in the wider community and with key project stakeholders.

The working group’s remit is to discuss scientific strategy, staffing, organisation and management, funding and publicising of the BioImage Archive.

It will also provide advice on:

  • Image communities’ trends (e.g., sample preparation, imaging formats and re-analysis needs) to ensure provision of broad community utility, whilst ensuring efficiencies where possible.
  • BioImage Archive industry engagement.
  • Possible compression techniques required specifically for imaging data.
  • Engaging with journals to encourage BioImage Archive data deposition.
  • First-phase testing and soft launch of BioImage Archive development stages.
  • New imaging community developments that may use the BioImage Archive platform.
  • Ushering in a Scientific Advisory Board, on maturity.


The working group is chaired by the EMBL-EBI Project Internal Sponsor, Johanna McEntyre, and has representation from a broad range of BioImaging fields, stakeholders and EMBL-EBI operational teams.

Imaging Ecosystem Working Group membership lasts for two years and current members are:

Omer Bayraktar, Wellcome Sanger Institute, Group Leader, Cellular Genetics

Alvis Brazma, EMBL-EBI Functional Genomics Senior Team Leader, BioImaging Project Senior User

Lucy Collinson, Crick Institute, Electron Microscopy Science Technology Platform Head

Jan Ellenberg, EMBL, Imaging Centre Coordinator

Andrew French, University of Nottingham, Associate Professor, Image analysis and computer vision

Perrine Paul Gilloteaux, Université de Nantes, CNRS Research Engineer in Bioimage Analysis

Matthew Hartley, EMBL-EBI BioImage Archive Team Leader

Ricardo Henriques, Optical Cell Biology Laboratory, Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Computational and Optical Biophysics University College London and Francis Crick Institute

Gerard Kleywegt, EMBL-EBI Senior Team Leader: Head of Molecular and Cellular Structure, BioImaging Project Senior User

Emma Lundberg, KTH Royal Institute of Technology Stockholm, Associate Professor (BioImaging & Proteomics)

Johanna McEntyre, EMBL-EBI Associate Director of Services, BioImaging Project Internal Sponsor

Rowan McKibbin, UKRI-BBSRC, Associate Director: Frontiers & Foundations, BioImaging Project Senior Responsible Owner

Kedar Narayan, NIH Centre for Molecular Microscopy, Group Leader for Cellular Imaging

Michelle Peckham, University of Leeds, Professor of Cell Biology

Helen Saibil, Birkbeck, University of London, Bernal Professor of Structural Biology (Cryo-EM)

Jason Swedlow, University of Dundee, Open Microscopy Environment Founder


The Imaging Ecosystem working group will meet at least twice a year and each meeting will be about two hours in duration.

The group has met twice so far and the next meeting is scheduled for autumn 2021.

Imaging community members who would like to provide any feedback or suggestions should email


First meeting of the Imaging Ecosystem Working Group. From top left to right: Andrew French, Gerard Kleywegt, Perrine Paul Gilloteaux, Alvis Brazma, Catherine Beaufort, Simone Matias Vegh, Robin McKibbin, Lucy Collinson, Jason Swedlow, Emma Lundberg, Helen Saibil, Michelle Peckham, Jan Ellenberg, Johanna McEntyre, Kedar Narayan, Mary Barlow, Omer Bayraktar.