EC 2.7 - Transferring phosphorus-containing groups


This subclass contains a rather large group of enzymes that transfer not only phosphate but also diphosphate, nucleotidyl residues and other groups. The phosphotransferases are subdivided according to the acceptor group, which may be an alcohol group (EC 2.7.1), a carboxy group (EC 2.7.2), a nitrogenous group, such as that of creatine (EC 2.7.3), or a phosphate group, as in the case of adenylate kinase (EC 2.7.4). Other sub-subclasses are for: diphosphotransferases (EC 2.7.6), nucleotidyltransferases (EC 2.7.7) and transferases for other substituted phosphate groups (EC 2.7.8). With the enzymes of sub-subclass EC 2.7.9, two phosphate groups are transferred from a donor such as ATP to two different acceptors. The protein kinases are divided into the sub-subclasses protein-tyrosine kinases (EC 2.7.10), protein-serine/threonine kinases (EC 2.7.11), dual-specificity kinases (EC 2.7.12), protein-histidine kinases (EC 2.7.13) and other protein kinases (EC 2.7.99).


EC 2.7.1
Phosphotransferases with an alcohol group as acceptor
EC 2.7.2
Phosphotransferases with a carboxy group as acceptor
EC 2.7.3
Phosphotransferases with a nitrogenous group as acceptor
EC 2.7.4
Phosphotransferases with a phosphate group as acceptor
EC 2.7.5
Phosphotransferases with regeneration of donors, apparently catalyzing intramolecular transfers
EC 2.7.6
EC 2.7.7
EC 2.7.8
Transferases for other substituted phosphate groups
EC 2.7.9
Phosphotransferases with paired acceptors
EC 2.7.10
Protein-tyrosine kinases
EC 2.7.11
Protein-serine/threonine kinases
EC 2.7.12
Dual-specificity kinases (those acting on Ser/Thr and Tyr residues)
EC 2.7.13
Protein-histidine kinases
EC 2.7.14
Protein-arginine kinases
EC 2.7.99
Other protein kinases