EC - Multisite-specific tRNA:(cytosine-C5)-methyltransferase

  IntEnz view ENZYME view

IntEnz Enzyme Nomenclature


Accepted name:
multisite-specific tRNA:(cytosine-C5)-methyltransferase
Other names:
multisite-specific tRNA:m5C-methyltransferase
Systematic name:
S-adenosyl-L-methionine:tRNA (cytosine-C5)-methyltransferase



The enzyme from Saccharomyces cerevisiae is responsible for complete 5-methylcytosine methylations of yeast tRNA. The incidence of modification depends on the cytosine position in tRNA. At positions 34 and 40, 5-methylcytosine is found only in two yeast tRNAs (tRNALeu(CUA) and tRNAPhe(GAA), respectively), whereas most other elongator yeast tRNAs bear either 5-methylcytosine48 or 5-methylcytosine49, but never both in the same tRNA molecule [1]. The formation of 5-methylcytosine34 and 5-methylcytosine40 is a strictly intron-dependent process, whereas the formation of 5-methylcytosine48 and 5-methylcytosine49 is an intron-independent process [2,3].

Links to other databases

Enzymes and pathways: NC-IUBMB , BRENDA , ERGO , ExplorEnz , ENZYME@ExPASy , KEGG , MetaCyc , UniPathway
Structural data: CSA , EC2PDB


  1. Motorin, Y., Grosjean, H.
    Multisite-specific tRNA:m5C-methyltransferase (Trm4) in yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae: identification of the gene and substrate specificity of the enzyme.
    RNA 5 : 1105-1118 (1999). [PMID: 10445884]
  2. Jiang, H. Q., Motorin, Y., Jin, Y. X., Grosjean, H.
    Pleiotropic effects of intron removal on base modification pattern of yeast tRNAPhe: an in vitro study.
    Nucleic Acids Res. 25 : 2694-2701 (1997). [PMID: 9207014]
  3. Strobel, M. C., Abelson, J.
    Effect of intron mutations on processing and function of Saccharomyces cerevisiae SUP53 tRNA in vitro and in vivo.
    Mol. Cell. Biol. 6 : 2663-2673 (1986). [PMID: 3537724]
  4. Walbott, H., Husson, C., Auxilien, S., Golinelli-Pimpaneau, B.
    Cysteine of sequence motif VI is essential for nucleophilic catalysis by yeast tRNA m5C methyltransferase.
    RNA 13 : 967-973 (2007). [PMID: 17475914]

[EC created 1976 as EC, part-transferred 2011 to EC]