Thomas Keane

Thomas Keane
Team Leader, European Genome-phenome Archive and European Variation Archive

Thomas Keane is the Team Leader for the European Genome Phenome Archive (EGA) and the European Variation Archive (EVA) at EMBL-EBI. He is responsible for strategic planning for EGA and EVA, is a member of the Global Alliance for Genomics and Health (GA4GH) steering committee, and co-leads the Large-scale Genomics workstream.

Before joining EMBL-EBI as Team Leader in 2016, Thomas led the Sequence Variation Infrastructure group in the Computational Genomics programme at the Wellcome Sanger Institute. His research interests are in using genomic technologies to understand biological processes, with a particular focus on rodent models for human disease. He is the scientific lead for the Mouse Genomes Project, a collaboration with the Wellcome Sanger Institute. He also holds an honoarary professorship at the University of Nottingham.

ORCID iD: 0000-0001-7532-6898

Tel:+ 44 (0) 1223 49 4349 / Fax:


Find out about research activity in the Keane research group

Keane team

European Variation Archive

The European Variation Archive is an open-access database of all types of genetic variation data, from all species. The EVA provides access to highly detailed, granular, raw variant data from human, animal and plant species. All users can download data from any study, or submit their own data to the archive. You can also query all variants in the EVA by study, gene, chromosomal location or dbSNP identifier using our VCF Browser. The EVA maintains and makes regular new releases of locus accessions (rs IDs) for all non-human species.

The European Genome-phenome Archive

The European Genome-phenome Archive (EGA) contains human data collected from research participants whose consent agreements authorise data release only to bona fide researchers and possibly for specific uses. Strict protocols govern how information is managed, stored and distributed by the EGA project. The EGA help desk provides service for both data submitters and those seeking access to the available datasets.




Team members

  • Silvia Bahena
  • Daniel Barrowdale
  • Marcos Casado Barbero
  • Timothee Cezard
  • Anna Foix
  • Mallory Freeberg
  • Leslie Glass
  • Jorge Izquierdo Ciges
  • Bela Juhasz
  • Giselle Kerry
  • Baron Koylass
  • Nitin Kumar
  • Carles Garcia Linares
  • Aoife McMahon
  • Anand Mohan
  • Emilio Garcia Rios
  • Aravind Sankar
  • Dona Shaju
  • April Shen
  • Ashutosh Shimpi
  • Andres Silva
  • Marta Terán
  • Coline Thomas
  • Fernando Varela
  • Sundararaman Venkataraman