Rodrigo Lopez

Rodrigo Lopez
Head of Web Production

Rodrigo Lopez joined EMBL-EBI in 1996 as a Systems Administrator responsible for the deployment of scientific computing and became the External Services Team Leader in 2002. His Web Production team is responsible for the administration of the web infrastructure, development of core software services such as the EMBL-EBI search engine and EMBL-EBI's job dispatcher, through which many sequence analysis tools run. Many project teams, both externally and within EMBL-EBI, depend on these developments. Rodrigo's team provides institute-wide support and advice on best practises to users. They are heavily involved in the support and in both technical and scientific training of the core software and systems they maintain. 

BSc In Veterinary Medicine, 1984, MSc Molecular Toxicology and Informatics 1987, University of Oslo. At EMBL-EBI since 1995

ORCID iD: 0000-0003-1256-7306

Tel:+44 (0)1223 494 423 / Fax:+44 (0)1223 494 468

Web Production

The Web production team, led by Rodrigo Lopez, focuses on three major areas of service: developing and providing platforms for web services; maintaining web infrastructure; and providing robust and secure frameworks for deploying public bioinformatics services. The team has developed and maintains the EBI Search engine and the Job Dispatcher framework, as well as their corresponding REST/SOAP web services. Web Production also provides access to core services for project management (document management, project documentation and issue tracking, source code control) and user support.
The team is heavily involved in the EMBL-EBI COVID-19 action, which is financed by the EU through EOSC. It coordinates the COVID-19 task-force as well as the development of the, which uses the EBI Search API as its backend. The task-force is composed of 20+ staff from many teams and groups across EMBL-EBI, contributing time and effort to develop and deploy COVID-19 relevant resources through the portal.



Team members

  • Ijaz Ahmad
  • Simone Federico Maria Badoer
  • Prasad Basutkar
  • Ossama Edbali
  • Khalid Kamal
  • Anton Kolesnikov
  • Joon Lee
  • Fabio Madeira
  • Nandana Madhusoodanan
  • Ravi Kiran Mahankali
  • Matt Pearce
  • Vidya Sreedevi Sankaran Potti
  • Adrian Tivey
  • Alison Wood