Paul Flicek

Paul Flicek
Senior Scientist and Team Leader, Vertebrate Genomics

DSc Washington University, 2004. Honorary Faculty Member, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute since 2008. At EMBL-EBI since 2005, Team Leader since 2007, Senior Scientist since 2011.

ORCID iD: 0000-0002-3897-7955

Tel:+44 (0)1223 49 4683 / Fax:+44 (0)1223 494 468


Find out about research activity in the Flicek research group

Flicek team

The Vertebrate Genomics team develops the Ensembl genome annotation resources and analysis infrastructure in collaboration with the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute; creates informatics resources as part of worldwide efforts to distribute data and materials for mouse models, phenotyping and related research and leads data management activities for several large-scale genomics projects, including the 1000 Genomes Project and Blueprint as part of the International Human Epigenome Consortium (IHEC). The resources and services of the Vertebrate Genomics team are made publicly available to ensure widest possible use by the scientific community.

We also have an active research effort focused on the evolution of transcriptional regulation with an ultimate goal of understanding mechanisms and maintenance of cell-type specificity. Our major research collaboration with Duncan Odom’s group at the University of Cambridge continues to pioneer methods of comparative regulatory genomics for biological discovery across a wide range of mammalian and vertebrate species. We are also interested in integrated analysis techniques to assess the interaction of ubiquitously expressed proteins and tissue-specific factors in tissue-specific gene regulation.


The Flicek Research Group focuses on computational models for genome annotation and evolution based on models incorporating DNA-protein interactions, epigenetic modifications, and the DNA sequence itself. The group is also interested in the large-scale infrastructure required for modern bioinformatics including storage and access methods for high-throughput sequencing data.



Team members

  • IF Barnes
  • Andrew Berry
  • Alexandra Bignell
  • Bruno Contreras-Moreira
  • Sarah Donaldson
  • Susan Fairley
  • Adam Frankish
  • Jose Manuel Gonzalez Martinez
  • Matthew Hardy
  • Toby Hunt
  • Sophie Janacek
  • Jane Loveland
  • Ernesto Lowy
  • Jonathan Mudge
  • Guy Naamati
  • Raghavendra Ramachendran
  • Marie-Marthe Suner
  • Kelly Walsh