Juan Antonio Vizcaino

Juan Antonio Vizcaino
Proteomics Team Leader - Vizcaino Team: Proteomics

Ph.D. Molecular Biology, University of Salamanca, Spain, 2005. Postdoc position at University of Seville, Spain, 2005-2006. At EMBL-EBI since 2006

ORCID iD: 0000-0002-3905-4335

Tel:+ 44 (0) 1223 492 686 / Fax:01223 48 46 96

Vizcaino Team

The primary goal of the Proteomics team at EMBL-EBI is to help researchers to make the most of public proteomics data, and to encourage the adoption of data standards in the field. We also aim to integrate proteomics data in other public data resources such as Ensembl and UniProt.

Services and standards

The Proteomics team is responsible for EMBL-EBI's core proteomics resource, the PRIDE Archive database of mass spectrometry-based proteomics data. We are also responsible for added-value resources such as PRIDE Cluster (peptide centric) and PRIDE Proteomes (protein centric).

Our team develops open-source, stand-alone tools including PRIDE Inspector (for data visualisation and basic analysis) and the PX submission tool (for performing dataset submissions), as well as different software libraries for handling proteomics data in standard formats. In this context, we heavily contribute to the activities of the Proteomics Standards Initiative (PSI). 

We lead the ProteomeXchange Consortium of proteomics resources, which aims to standardise public data submission and dissemination for proteomics worldwide.


Combined experimental/computational fellowships: ESPODs

Our team is recruiting postdoctoral fellows through the joint EMBL-EBI/Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute ESPOD programme. ESPOD fellowships are for researchers who take both an experimental and computational approach to their work.

Master's projects

We offer a range of projects for interested Master's students. Please send your CV and covering letter to juan [at] ebi.ac.uk.




Team members

  • Jingwen Bai
  • Attila Csordas
  • Suresh Hewapathirana
  • Avinash Inuganti
  • Andrew Jarnuczak
  • Deepti Jaiswal Kundu
  • Lennart Martens
  • Lorraine McAlister
  • Yasset Perez Riverol
  • Mathias Walzer
  • Ling Xu