Novel protein kinase C eta, catalytic domain (IPR034665)

Short name: nPKC_eta

Overlapping homologous superfamilies

Domain relationships



Protein kinases C (PKCs) constitute a family of Ser/Thr kinases. PKCs are classified into three groups (classical, atypical, and novel) depending on their mode of activation and the structural characteristics of their regulatory domain [PMID: 12495431, PMID: 24766842]. Novel PKCs (nPKCs) comprise delta, epsilon, eta, and theta isoforms, which have tandem C1 domains and a C2 domain that does not bind calcium [PMID: 15851033]. nPKCs are calcium-independent, but require DAG (1,2-diacylglycerol) and phosphatidylserine (PS) for activity.

PKC-eta is predominantly expressed in squamous epithelia, where it plays a crucial role in the signaling of cell-type specific differentiation [PMID: 12473186]. It is also expressed in pro-B cells and early-stage thymocytes, and acts as a key regulator in early B-cell development [PMID: 12473186]. PKC-eta increases glioblastoma multiforme (GBM) proliferation and resistance to radiation, and is being developed as a therapeutic target for the management of GBM [PMID: 15934917].

GO terms

Biological Process

GO:0006468 protein phosphorylation

Molecular Function

GO:0004697 protein kinase C activity

Cellular Component

No terms assigned in this category.

Contributing signatures

Signatures from InterPro member databases are used to construct an entry.