Classical Protein Kinase C alpha, catalytic domain (IPR034663)

Short name: cPKC_alpha

Overlapping homologous superfamilies

Domain relationships



Protein kinases C (PKCs) constitute a family of Ser/Thr kinases. PKCs are classified into three groups (classical, atypical, and novel) depending on their mode of activation and the structural characteristics of their regulatory domain [PMID: 12495431, PMID: 24766842]. Conventional PKCs (cPKCs) have functional C1A and C1B domains, and a C2 domain. PKCs undergo three phosphorylations in order to take mature forms [PMID: 8749392, PMID: 19934406]. In addition, cPKCs depend on calcium, DAG (1,2-diacylglycerol), and in most cases, phosphatidylserine for activation. There are three conventional PKC isoenzymes (alpha, beta, and gamma).

PKC-alpha is expressed in many tissues and is associated with cell proliferation, apoptosis, and cell motility [PMID: 17588800, PMID: 17603037]. It plays a role in the signalling of the growth factors PDGF, VEGF, EGF, and FGF. Abnormal levels of PKC-alpha have been detected in many transformed cell lines and several human tumours [PMID: 16424642, PMID: 15057036, PMID: 14687784, PMID: 17548205]. In addition, PKC-alpha is required for HER2 dependent breast cancer invasion [PMID: 16407820].

GO terms

Biological Process

GO:0006468 protein phosphorylation

Molecular Function

GO:0004697 protein kinase C activity

Cellular Component

No terms assigned in this category.

Contributing signatures

Signatures from InterPro member databases are used to construct an entry.