Archaeal RpoH /eukaryotic RPB5 RNA polymerase subunit (IPR020609)

Short name: RpoH/RPB5

Overlapping homologous superfamilies

Family relationships



DNA-directed RNA polymerases,also known as DNA-dependent RNA polymerases, are responsible for the polymerisation of ribonucleotides into a sequence complementary to the template DNA. Eukaryotes have three different DNA-directed RNA polymerases (RNAPs), Pol I, II, and III, whereas Archaea and Bacteria have single enzymes.

RNAPs are multisubunit enzymes. Archaeal RNAP is closely related to eukaryotic RNAP II [PMID: 19880312], which consists of 12 subunits. Archaeal RNAP has an additional subunit, Rpo13, with no orthologue in the eukaryotic enzyme [PMID: 19419240].

Archaeal subunit H is the homologue of eukaryotic Rpb5, and it is also known as Rpo5 following the eukaryotic nomenclature [PMID: 19419240]. Eukaryotic Rpb5 has a bipartite structure consisting of a unique N-terminal region, plus a C-terminal region that is structurally homologous to the prokaryotic Rbp5 homologue, subunit H (gene rpoH) [PMID: 10841538, PMID: 10191143, PMID: 1729711, PMID: 10841537].

GO terms

Biological Process

GO:0006351 transcription, DNA-templated

Molecular Function

GO:0003677 DNA binding
GO:0003899 DNA-directed 5'-3' RNA polymerase activity

Cellular Component

No terms assigned in this category.

Contributing signatures

Signatures from InterPro member databases are used to construct an entry.