File reports

While file reports can be built using the ENA advanced search (as described here), there is a special filereport URL that will return these reports. This URL bypasses the advanced search and fetches information directly from a data cache, increasing the speed of delivery. This faster resource is available using the following URL template:
http://www.ebi.ac.uk/ena/data/warehouse/filereport?accession=<accession>&result=<result>[&fields=<fields>]

When the fields parameter is used, only those columns requested are returned and they are in the same order as requested. If the fields parameter is not used, all available columns for the result are returned.

Examples:

Run Reports

To retrieve the run file report, the result should be set to read_run. Study accessions (ERP, SRP, DRP, PRJ prefixes), experiment accessions (ERX, SRX, DRX prefixes), sample accessions (ERS, SRS, DRS, SAM prefixes) and run accessions (ERR, SRR, DRR prefixes) can be supplied. Available fields are listed under the read_run result in the returnable fields table at the bottom of this page.

Analysis Reports

To retrieve the analysis file report, the result should be set to analysis. Study accessions (ERP, SRP, DRP, PRJ prefixes), sample accessions (ERS, SRS, DRS, SAM prefixes) and analysis accessions (ERZ, SRZ, DRZ prefixes) can be supplied. Available fields are listed under the analysis result in the returnable fields table at the bottom of this page.

Changing from the legacy file report

We are recommending users change from the old file report URLs given below to use the new URL described above, as ENA is planning to deprecate these older URLs. There are several benefits for this change, the main ones being that the new filereport URL will generate the reports faster than the older URL, and the new URL is expected to be more reliable.
http://www.ebi.ac.uk/ena/data/view/reports/sra/fastq_files/<accession>
http://www.ebi.ac.uk/ena/data/view/reports/sra/submitted_files/<accession>

There are several differences in the output of the new report compared to the old:

  1. The fastq and submitted file information can be returned in the same report rather than having to use the two separate ones as was the case in the old URL format.
  2. The header will use each field name (these are listed here).
  3. When no data is available for a field, that column will be empty.
  4. The columns supplied in the report are user defined rather than set.
  5. File size is unformatted (the value is given in bytes rather than conversion to Mb/Gb with units).

The following table lists the columns available in the current legacy reports and how they might be converted into the new run/analysis reports.

Legacy report column New report column Available in run report Available in analysis report
Study study_accession Y Y
Sample sample_accession Y Y
Experiment experiment_accession Y N
Run run_accession Y N
Analysis analysis_accession N Y
Organism scientific_name Y Y
Instrument Platform instrument_platform Y N
Instrument Model instrument_model Y N
Library Name library_name Y N
Library Strategy library_strategy Y N
Library Source library_source Y N
Library Selection library_selection Y N
Run Read Count read_count Y N
Run Base Count base_count Y N
File Name   N N
File Size fastq_bytes/submitted_bytes Y Y (submitted)
md5 fastq_md5/submitted_md5 Y Y (submitted)
Ftp fastq_ftp/submitted_ftp Y Y (submitted)