Janet Thornton and Jackie Hunter

Janet Thornton has been elected to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences in recognition of her contributions to the advancement of medical science. She joins Academy fellows Jackie Hunter, Chief Executive of the BBSRC, EMBL alumna Professor Nadia Rosenthal of Imperial College London, and Professor Willem Ouwehand of the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute in being acknowledged for excellence in research and innovative application of scientific knowledge.

The Academy of Medical Sciences is an independent organisation that campaigns to ensure advances in medical science are translated into benefits for patients, and its 1133 Fellows are the UK’s leading medical scientists. The 44 new Fellows – 15 of whom are women – will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 2 July 2014. A full list of Fellows can be found on the Academy website.